2015 Recorded 82 Police and 19 K9 Dogs Died in the Line of Duty Nationwide

ART-ART-FALLEN-OFFICERS-bgf

The Officer Down Memorial has recorded for 2015 the deaths of 82 police officers and 19 K9 dogs around the country that have fallen in the line of duty. Twenty Three Police officers were shot and killed by criminal assailants along with three K9 police dogs. These officers and their K9 Partners were trying to keep you the American people safe! Take a good look at the faces of these officers that have given their lives in the LINE OF DUTY to keep you SAFE.

Sergeant Sean Renfro
Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office, CO
EOW: Saturday, January 3, 2015
Cause of Death: Struck by vehicle

Police Officer Craig Chandler
Baltimore City Police Department, MD
EOW: Friday, January 9, 2015
Cause of Death: Vehicle pursuit

Assistant Chief Carl Borderlon
Ball Police Department, LA
EOW: Saturday, January 10, 2015
Cause of Death: Heart attack

Corrections Officer V Christopher Davis
Texas Department of Criminal Justice, TX
EOW: Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

Corrections Officer V Eligio Garcia
Texas Department of Criminal Justice, TX
EOW: Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

Deputy Chief Steven Bonano
New York City Police Department, NY
EOW: Saturday, January 17, 2015
Cause of Death: 9/11 related illness

Motor Officer Michael Kern
Olathe Police Department, KS
EOW: Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Cause of Death: Heart attack

Detective John Scott Stevens
Ocean County Prosecutor’s Office, NJ
EOW: Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

Director of Investigations John Ballard Gorman
Mississippi Gaming Commission, MS
EOW: Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire (Accidental)

Sergeant Charles Kerry Mitchum
Loxley Police Department, AL
EOW: Monday, January 26, 2015
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

Patrolman Roger O’Dell
Town Creek Police Department, AL
EOW: Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Cause of Death: Heart attack

Deputy Sheriff Rodney Condall
Orleans Parish Sheriff’s Office, LA
EOW: Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Cause of Death: Heart attack

Detective Michael Starrett
Jacksboro Police Department, TN
EOW: Friday, January 30, 2015
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

Trooper Nicholas Dees
Oklahoma Highway Patrol, OK
EOW: Saturday, January 31, 2015
Cause of Death: Struck by vehicle

Police Officer III Siegfred D. R. “Dove” Mortera
Guam Police Department, GU
EOW: Saturday, February 14, 2015
Cause of Death: Heart attack

Captain Neville Stanley Kealii Colburn
Honolulu Police Department, HI
EOW: Monday, February 23, 2015
Cause of Death: Heart attack

Special Agent William Sheldon
United States Department of Justice – Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, US
EOW: Monday, March 2, 2015
Cause of Death: 9/11 related illness

Detective Terence Avery Green
Fulton County Police Department, GA
EOW: Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Police Officer Robert Wilson, III
Philadelphia Police Department, PA
EOW: Thursday, March 5, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Lieutenant C. Scott Travis
Bullitt County Detention Center, KY
EOW: Thursday, March 5, 2015
Cause of Death: Heart attack

Police Officer Brennan Rabain
Prince George’s County Police Department, MD
EOW: Saturday, March 7, 2015
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

Deputy U.S. Marshal Josie Wells
United States Department of Justice – United States Marshals Service, US
EOW: Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Deputy Sheriff Johnny Gatson
Warren County Sheriff’s Office, MS
EOW: Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

Police Officer Burke Rhoads
Nicholasville Police Department, KY
EOW: Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

Patrolman George S. Nissen
Stone Park Police Department, IL
EOW: Thursday, March 12, 2015
Cause of Death: Assault

Trooper Donald R. Fredenburg, Jr.
New York State Police, NY
EOW: Friday, March 13, 2015
Cause of Death: Heart attack

Police Officer Darryl Wallace
Clayton County Police Department, GA
EOW: Sunday, March 15, 2015
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

Lieutenant Richard Woods
Pell City Police Department, AL
EOW: Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Cause of Death: Heart attack

Patrolman Adrian Arellano
El Paso Police Department, TX
EOW: Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Cause of Death: Motorcycle accident

Police Officer Alex Yazzie
Navajo Division of Public Safety, TR
EOW: Thursday, March 19, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Police Officer Michael Johnson
San Jose Police Department, CA
EOW: Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Trooper Trevor Casper
Wisconsin State Patrol, WI
EOW: Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Police Officer David Lee Colley
Montgomery Police Department, AL
EOW: Saturday, April 4, 2015
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

Police Officer Jared Forsyth
Ocala Police Department, FL
EOW: Monday, April 6, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire (Accidental)

Police Officer Juandre Gilliam
Jeanerette Police Department, LA
EOW: Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Cause of Death: Vehicle pursuit

Corporal Scott R. Thompson
Manchester Township Police Department, NJ
EOW: Friday, April 10, 2015
Cause of Death: Heart attack

Police Officer Michael Villarreal
Pearsall Police Department, TX
EOW: Sunday, April 12, 2015
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

Deputy Sheriff Gil Datan
Coos County Sheriff’s Office, OR
EOW: Monday, April 20, 2015
Cause of Death: Accidental

Detective Brian Moore
New York City Police Department, NY
EOW: Monday, May 4, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Lieutenant Eric A. Eslary
Ligonier Township Police Department, PA
EOW: Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

Sergeant Greg Moore
Coeur d’Alene Police Department, ID
EOW: Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Detective Paul J. Koropal
Allegheny County District Attorney’s Office – Investigative Division, PA
EOW: Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Cause of Death: Heart attack

Police Officer Liquori Tate
Hattiesburg Police Department, MS
EOW: Saturday, May 9, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Police Officer Benjamin Deen
Hattiesburg Police Department, MS
EOW: Saturday, May 9, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Reserve Deputy Sonny Smith
Johnson County Sheriff’s Office, AR
EOW: Friday, May 15, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Police Officer Richard Martin
Houston Police Department, TX
EOW: Monday, May 18, 2015
Cause of Death: Vehicular assault

Detective Kerrie Orozco
Omaha Police Department, NE
EOW: Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Inspector Robert James Bowling
North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles License and Theft Bureau, NC
EOW: Thursday, May 21, 2015
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

Trooper Taylor Thyfault
Colorado State Patrol, CO
EOW: Saturday, May 23, 2015
Cause of Death: Vehicular assault

Patrolman James Bennett, Jr.
Housing Authority of New Orleans Police Department, LA
EOW: Sunday, May 24, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Officer Gregg “Nigel” Benner
Rio Rancho Police Department, NM
EOW: Monday, May 25, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Sergeant Iris Janett Smith
Mississippi Department of Corrections, MS
EOW: Monday, May 25, 2015
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

Police Officer Toure Heywood
Georgia State University Police Department, GA
EOW: Thursday, May 28, 2015
Cause of Death: Struck by vehicle

Trooper Anthony Raspa
New Jersey State Police, NJ
EOW: Saturday, May 30, 2015
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

Deputy U.S. Marshal Zacarias Toro
United States Department of Justice – United States Marshals Service, US
EOW: Sunday, June 14, 2015
Cause of Death: 9/11 related illness

Sheriff Ladson O’Connor
Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office, GA
EOW: Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Cause of Death: Vehicle pursuit

Police Officer Rick Silva
Chehalis Police Department, WA
EOW: Thursday, June 18, 2015
Cause of Death: Assault

Police Officer Sonny Kim
Cincinnati Police Department, OH
EOW: Friday, June 19, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Police Officer Daryle Holloway
New Orleans Police Department, LA
EOW: Saturday, June 20, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Trooper Eric K. Chrisman
Kentucky State Police, KY
EOW: Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

Sergeant Christopher Kelley
Hutto Police Department, TX
EOW: Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Cause of Death: Vehicular assault

Sergeant Korby Kennedy
San Angelo Police Department, TX
EOW: Thursday, June 25, 2015
Cause of Death: Motorcycle accident

Police Officer David Joseph Nelson
Bakersfield Police Department, CA
EOW: Friday, June 26, 2015
Cause of Death: Vehicle pursuit

Correctional Officer Gregory Dale Mitchell
Georgia Department of Corrections, GA
EOW: Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Cause of Death: Accidental

Patrolman John James Wilding
Scranton Police Department, PA
EOW: Sunday, July 12, 2015
Cause of Death: Fall

Corrections Officer Timothy Davison
Texas Department of Criminal Justice, TX
EOW: Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Cause of Death: Assault

Police Officer Vernell Brown, Jr.
New Orleans Police Department, LA
EOW: Friday, July 17, 2015
Cause of Death: Struck by vehicle

Sergeant Scott Lunger
Hayward Police Department, CA
EOW: Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Deputy Sheriff Delton Daniels
Marlboro County Sheriff’s Office, SC
EOW: Saturday, August 1, 2015
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

Police Officer Sean Michael Bolton
Memphis Police Department, TN
EOW: Saturday, August 1, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Police Officer Thomas LaValley
Shreveport Police Department, LA
EOW: Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Detective Brent L. Hanger
Washington State Patrol, WA
EOW: Thursday, August 6, 2015
Cause of Death: Heart attack

First Lieutenant Arthur A. Green, III
Michigan Department of Natural Resources, MI
EOW: Sunday, August 9, 2015

Cause of Death: Aircraft accident
Deputy Sheriff Craig Stephen Whisenand
Tazewell County Sheriff’s Office, IL
EOW: Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Cause of Death: Automobile accident
Deputy Sheriff Carl Howell
Carson City Sheriff’s Office, NV
EOW: Saturday, August 15, 2015

Cause of Death: Gunfire
Detention Officer Tronoski Jones
Harris County Sheriff’s Office, TX
EOW: Thursday, August 20, 2015
Cause of Death: Heart attack

Senior Trooper Steven Vincent
Louisiana State Police, LA
EOW: Monday, August 24, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Sergeant Peggy Vassallo
Bellefontaine Neighbors Police Department, MO
EOW: Monday, August 24, 2015
Cause of Death: Struck by vehicle

Police Officer Henry Nelson
Sunset Police Department, LA
EOW: Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

Trooper James M. Bava
Missouri State Highway Patrol, MO
EOW: Friday, August 28, 2015
Cause of Death: Automobile accident

Trooper Chad H. Wolf
Michigan State Police, MI
EOW: Friday, August 28, 2015
Cause of Death: Motorcycle accident

Deputy Sheriff Darren Goforth
Harris County Sheriff’s Office, TX
EOW: Friday, August 28, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire
________________________________________
K9 Blue
Georgetown County Sheriff’s Office, SC
EOW: Saturday, January 10, 2015
Cause of Death: Fire

K9 Sultan
Riverside County Sheriff’s Department, CA
EOW: Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

K9 Pepper
Wise County Sheriff’s Office, TX
EOW: Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire

K9 Mako
Cleveland County Sheriff’s Office, NC
EOW: Thursday, February 19, 2015
Cause of Death: Animal related

K9 Fritzie
Bath Police Department, WV
EOW: Thursday, March 12, 2015
Cause of Death: Drowned
K9 Barney

Tacoma Police Department, WA
EOW: Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Cause of Death: Poisoned
K9 Harry

Audubon County Sheriff’s Office, IA
EOW: Saturday, March 28, 2015
Cause of Death: Automobile accident
K9 Bella

Maryland Division of Correction, MD
EOW: Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Cause of Death: Fire
K9 Jimmy

King County Sheriff’s Office, WA
EOW: Saturday, April 18, 2015
Cause of Death: Struck by vehicle
K9 Jimmy

Hialeah Police Department, FL
EOW: Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Cause of Death: Heat exhaustion
K9 Hector

Hialeah Police Department, FL
EOW: Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Cause of Death: Heat exhaustion
K9 Chewbacca

Hancock County Sheriff’s Office, MS
EOW: Monday, June 15, 2015
Cause of Death: Animal related
K9 Nitro

Stockton Police Department, CA
EOW: Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Cause of Death: Heat exhaustion
K9 Baston

Savannah State University Police Department, GA
EOW: Friday, July 10, 2015
Cause of Death: Heat exhaustion
K9 Titus

Little Rock Police Department, AR
EOW: Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Cause of Death: Heat exhaustion
K9 Zane

Conyers Police Department, GA
EOW: Thursday, July 16, 2015
Cause of Death: Heat exhaustion
K9 Zeke

Muldrow Police Department, OK
EOW: Thursday, July 23, 2015
Cause of Death: Heat exhaustion
K9 Falko

Toledo Police Department, OH
EOW: Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Cause of Death: Gunfire
K9 Wix

Brown County Sheriff’s Office, WI
EOW: Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Cause of Death: Heat exhaustion

Info Org: Officer Down Memorial Page

Photo/Article: by Maggio News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *